It is very unlikely that you want to change the status of a Secured Database (implemented with Microsoft Access Security) to an unsecured one. This exercise become necessary when you want to install/share a Database in an unsecured environment.

Before we embark on this simple exercise to remove the security settings of a database, the first thing to do is to change the Ownership of the Database.  The Owner (the User who created the Database is the Owner) of the Database Object have full access rights to all objects within the database and can assign permissions to other Users or User-Groups as well.  Members of the Admins Group also have this privileges.

Things to remember:

  1. The User who attempts to convert the Database must have at least Read Permission to all Objects of the Database.

  2. The Hidden Objects, if any, cannot be transferred into the target Database.

The conversion process is very simple and it needs only few steps.

  1. Create a new Database.

  2. Select File – ->Get External Data – ->Import.

  3. Browse to the location of the Database, you are trying to convert, and open it.

  4. Select the Tables Tab and click on the Select All Command Button to select all the Tables to import.

  5. Repeat this method for all Queries, Forms, Reports, Macros and Modules.

    importtables
  6. If your Database have Custom Menus and Toolbars then click on Options.

  7. Put a check-mark in the Menus and Toolbars option.

  8. Click OK to Import all Objects (other than hidden objects) into the new Database.

Access privileges of all objects of the new database have now set to default.  By default, all Users of the new Database are the members of the Users Group and they all have Full Access Rights (to Open/Run, Read Design, Modify Design, Administer permissions) to all Objects.

But, if you plan to share this unsecured database on a Network you should do few changes to make it available for concurrent use.  Otherwise the database cannot be used by more than one user at the same time.

Change the following Settings:

  1. Select Tools – ->Options – ->Advanced.

  2. Select Shared under the Default Open Mode Options Group.

  3. Select Edited Record under the Default Record Locking Options GroupOpen Database using Record Level Locking Option is already in selected state also.

    editedrecords
  4. Click OK to Close the Dialog Box.

  5. Select Tools – -> Security – -> User and Group Permissions.

  6. Select Admin User Name under the User/Group Name List. 

    Why selected Admin User Account? Because in an unsecured environment all Users are silently logged in as  Admin User.  MS-Access will not prompt for UserId and Password.

  7. Select the Database Object in the Object Type Control.

  8. Remove the check-mark from the Open Exclusive Option.

    openexclusive
  9. Click OK to close the Dialog Box.

Now, you have a brand new Database with no Security settings.  The old database will remain without change.

Technorati Tags: